Hope Unchained: Can the deepest loss bring the greatest gain?

More adventure in the Roman Empire of Trajan in AD 106! The next volume in the Light in the Empire series releases December 2, 2019.

Hope Unchained can be read stand-alone, like all the books in the Light in the Empire series. But if you enjoyed True Freedom set in Rome in AD 118, you’ll get to spend some time with Leander’s beloved sister Ariana twelve years earlier when Rome’s armies conquered Dacia and made them both slaves.

Come join me again for dangerous times, difficult friendships, and lives transformed by forgiveness and love!

Hope Unchained cover

Available as ebook, paperback, and hardcover at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, and local bookstores by special order.

Hope Unchained by Carol Ashby
Volume 7 of the Light in the Empire series

Can the deepest loss bring the greatest gain?

Rome’s conquering army took Ariana’s family and freedom, but nothing can take her faith in Jesus. When she rescues a tribune’s wife from certain death, her reward is freedom and a chance to free her brother and sister. But first she must catch up with the slave caravan before they vanish forever, and tracking them from Dacia to the coast seems impossible for one woman alone.

Discharged from the legion with a hand crippled by a Dacian knife, Donatus faces a future without hope. When the tribune asks him to escort Ariana on her quest, it’s the only work he can find. It means four weeks with a Dacian woman and a gladiator bodyguard, but it takes money to eat. A man without options must take what he can get.

But a lot can happen in four weeks. Even battle-hardened men can be touched by love and forgiveness, and it’s easier to face an enemy with a sword than to face the truth. When his moment of truth comes, what will Donatus choose, and what will that mean for all of them?

Light in the Empire Series: Dangerous times, difficult friendships, lives transformed by forgiveness and love

Hope Unchained is the seventh volume in the Light in the Empire series, which follows the interconnected lives of four Roman families during the reigns of Trajan and Hadrian. Each can be read stand-alone. The nine novels of the series will take you around the Empire, from Germania and Britannia to Thracia, Dacia, and Judaea and, of course, to Rome itself.

2 thoughts on “Hope Unchained: Can the deepest loss bring the greatest gain?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.