True Freedom: The Chains We Cannot See Can Be the Hardest Ones to Break

Come join me again in the Roman Empire of Hadrian in AD 118! The next volume in the Light in the Empire series releases May 27 with pre-orders starting May 18.

True Freedom can be read stand-alone, like all the books in the Light in the Empire series. But if you enjoyed Forgiven or Faithful set in AD 122, you’ll get to spend some time four years earlier with some of the characters you may have liked or loved…or hated.

Come join me for more dangerous times, difficult friendships, and lives transformed by forgiveness and love!

True Freedom cover

Coming May 27, 2019; pre-order May 18. Available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, and local bookstores as special order.

True Freedom by Carol Ashby
Volume 6 of the Light in the Empire series

The chains we cannot see can be the hardest ones to break.

When Aulus runs up a gambling debt to his father’s political enemy, he’s desperate to pay it off before his father returns to Rome. His best friend Marcus suggests they fake the kidnapping of Aulus’s sister Julia and use the ransom money. But when the man they hired kidnaps her for real, Aulus is catapulted into a desperate search to find her.

Torn from his childhood home by Rome’s conquering armies and sold as a farm slave to labor until he dies, Dacius’s faith gives him strength to bear what he must and serve without complaining. After a deadly accident makes him one of Julia’s litter bearers, he overhears Marcus advising her brother to kidnap her. When Dacius almost dies thwarting the kidnapping, a Christian couple pretend Julia and Dacius are their children to keep her brother from finding them before her father returns.

But pretending to be free again makes returning to slavery more than Dacius can bear, while acting like a common woman opens Julia’s eyes to dreams and destinies she never knew existed. With her brother closing in and her father almost home, can she find a way around Roman law and custom to free them both for the future they long for?

Light in the Empire Series: Dangerous times, difficult friendships, lives transformed by forgiveness and love

True Freedom is the sixth volume in the Light in the Empire series, which follows the interconnected lives of the members of four Roman families during the reigns of Trajan and Hadrian. The eight novels of the series will take you around the Empire, from Germania and Britannia to Thracia, Dacia, and Judaea and, of course, to Rome itself.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.