Honor Bound: Honor had forced him to protect her. Time would tell if he’d regret it.

Ready for another adventure in the Roman Empire of Hadrian in AD 122-3? The next volume in the Light in the Empire series releases June 22, 2020.

Honor Bound can be read stand-alone, like all the books in the Light in the Empire series. But if you enjoyed Africanus and Brutus in True Freedom in AD 118, you can find out what happens to them four years later.

It’s a story of loss and new beginnings, of love and hatred and forgiveness that opens the door to a brighter future blessed by God. Come join me again for another story of light in the darkness and hope in difficult times.

Honor Bound cover

Releaseing June 22, 2020! Available as e-book, paperback, and hardcover at Amazon and Barnes & Noble, as e-book at Kobo, and at local bookstores by special order.

Honor Bound by Carol Ashby
Volume 8 of the Light in the Empire series

Honor had forced him to protect her. Time would tell if he’d regret it.

Marcus Brutus owns estates, ships, and gladiator schools that increase his fortune daily, but his greatest treasures are his honor and his wife. When she reveals her faith in Jesus before dying after the birth of their son, he’s consumed by hatred for the unnamed Christian woman who led his beloved to abandon the Roman gods, making him lose her in this life and the next.

For fifteen years, Licinia’s father hid her Christian faith. But now her father is dead, and a ruthless political enemy is hunting for anything to destroy her brother. When she becomes the target, her brother sends her to their estate in Germania. But is that far enough to protect her from an evil man who will stop at nothing?

A carriage accident leaves Brutus injured and his best friend near death, and Licinia cares for them. When her brother’s enemies come and he learns she’s the Christian who corrupted his wife, does honor require him to protect her or turn her over as an enemy of Rome? And when Licinia’s heart is drawn toward the pagan man who makes money off death, can she reconcile her growing affection with her love for Christ?

Light in the Empire Series: Dangerous times, difficult friendships, lives transformed by forgiveness and love

Honor Bound is the eighth volume in the Light in the Empire series, which follows the interconnected lives of four Roman families during the reigns of Trajan and Hadrian. Each can be read stand-alone. The nine novels of the series will take you around the Empire, from Germania and Britannia to Thracia, Dacia, and Judaea and, of course, to Rome itself.

6 thoughts on “Honor Bound: Honor had forced him to protect her. Time would tell if he’d regret it.

  1. Megan

    With every book, I anxiously await its arrival, then i let it sit in my library for a bit, knowing this puts us one step closer to the dreaded book 9. I have dreaded it’s arrival since the beginning! I thoroughly loved this book, relating to almost every character in some form. I thank you, if possible, can you continue? 🙂
    I would love to see septimus in the next book, and perhaps the end to the elder sabinus . I knew one should hope for his salvation, but…..lol.
    Thank you, for pulling us in, helping us remember nothing in this crazy world is new under the sun, but God’s love and forgiveness is new every morning!

    1. Carol Ashby Post author

      Thanks for getting in touch, Megan. Regarding the dreaded book 9…it won’t be the last. I originally planned 8 books, then 9, but now, since I already have two plots percolating in my mind, I’m planning for at least 10. As long as God keeps giving me worthwhile stories, I’ll keep writing them. I probably should change nine to ten at all the Amazon listings, in case others are feeling the way you are!

      Right now I’m working on the story of Ursus, the Syrian gladiator from Hope Unchained, for the next release in late fall of 2020. Septimus should be returning in book ten in the spring of 2021. I think you might be surprised by the plans I have for his father and grandfather and a few others you’ve met before.


      1. elisa

        I jumped with GLEE at the ” TWO – TWO!- PLOTS PERCOLATING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
        GAUDE!!! GAUDE!!!

        I can smell the PERCOLATION from here!

        Percolation comes from the Latin word percolare. VERY FITTING word , for Domina Ashby!

        Percōlō‎ .
        new book status update . “i percolate.”

        1. Carol Ashby Post author

          So glad you’re pleased, Elisa. I think you’ll like how Ursus, AKA Matti son of Zabdi, is taking shape in what will be #9. He’s already grown into a character I love, and some of the folks from Hope Unchained, The Legacy, and Second Chances will be back in vital roles. Number 9 is another stand-alone novel, of course, but I think you’ll enjoy seeing the people 8 years before The Legacy took place and 16 years before Second Chances.

          Plot #11 is also starting to form up in my mind a bit.

    1. Carol Ashby Post author

      Thanks for letting me know you’d like to see Sextus again, Cindy. I agree that he needs to come back in a future story, and I have some plans for that.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.